Island Cricket

Friday, August 29, 2008

Ajantha Mendis tops the wicket takers list for 2008

by Hilal

Ajantha Mendis is now the leading wicket taker for 2008. In 13 matches Mendis has amassed a haul of 33 Wickets at a mind boggling average of 10.81 and a strike rate of 18 - Mendis strikes once every 18 deliveries!

Most wickets

2008 - One-Day Internationals

BAW Mendis (SL)1399.312357336/1310.813.5818.0
NW Bracken (Aus)16*124.48505295/4717.414.0525.7
KMDN Kulasekara (SL)17130.213608274/4022.514.6628.9
Shahid Afridi (Pak)16153.12713273/1926.404.6534.0
Sohail Tanvir (Pak)16134.49658255/4826.324.8832.3
M Muralitharan (SL)17159.03709245/3129.544.4539.7
SCJ Broad (Eng)14114.014500235/2321.734.3829.7
B Lee (Aus)13115.48560235/2724.344.8430.1
I Sharma (India)16128.14657224/3829.865.1234.9
Abdur Razzak (Ban)19*156.42768223/2034.904.9042.7
P Kumar (India)14122.312592214/3128.194.8335.0
IK Pathan (India)19145.23845214/4140.235.8141.5

Mendis has dismissed Yuvraj Singh 4 times of which he bowled him 3 times. The following list outlines Mendis' 33 scalps in more detail.

Most ODI wickets in a calendar year is 69 wickets in 36 matches held by Saqlain Mustaq in the 1997 season.

Records includes the following current or recent matches:
Australia v Bangladesh at Darwin, 1st ODI, Aug 30, 2008
England v South Africa at The Oval, 3rd ODI, Aug 29, 2008 [ODI # 2757]
Sri Lanka v India at Colombo (RPS), 5th ODI, Aug 29, 2008 [ODI # 2756]

Stats courtesy StatsGuru


Anonymous said...

Wow! Someone stop this guy!

Anonymous said...

Kulasekara is at no 3!!

Post a Comment